The Kaimanawa Wall: My Second Visit to the Mysterious Structure

John Mills
2 min readFeb 19, 2019

In October 2016, shortly after I had written about my first visit to the Kaimanawa Wall, which was back in December 2004, I retraced my steps to visit the mysterious site again.

This time, I went armed with an iPhone, GoPro & DJI drone and used them to document it on video. Join me as I explore the stone wall for the second time, 12 years later.

Unfortunately, the timing of my visit was a bit late in the day and it was getting dark as I arrived. So I didn’t spend as much time at the wall as I would have liked.

Having visited the site twice, you might think that I would have come to a conclusion as to whether it is man-made or natural. I haven’t.

It still needs further investigation.

As of this writing, I have revisited the site twice more for a total of four visits. Some interesting things have happened in…

--

--

John Mills

John is a software developer living in Wellington, New Zealand. He writes about code, tech, travel & “ancient” New Zealand.